Our awards

Since its inception in 2015, The Frontier has won dozens of awards across many categories and competitions.

Oklahoma Society of Professional Journalists
Outstanding Magazine Story – Kayla Branch
First place – General News (Kayla Branch)
First place – Spot News (Kayla Branch)
Outstanding Investigative Report – Clifton Adcock, Reese Gorman, The Frontier, Jennifer Palmer, Oklahoma Watch

Online Journalism Awards
Finalist – Al Neuharth Innovation in Investigative Journalism Award

Oklahoma Press Association Better Newspaper Contest Awards
First place – Digital media
First place – Feature writing (Clifton Adcock)
First place – Education writing (Clifton Adcock)
First place – In-depth reporting (Reese Gorman)
Second place – Education writing (Reese Gorman)
Third place – Education writing (Dylan Goforth)
Third place – News writing (Brianna Bailey, Kassie McClung)

Society of Professional Journalists First Amendment Awards
First place – Investigative reporting (Clifton Adcock, Reese Gorman)
Second place – Business news (Brianna Bailey)

Great Plains Journalism Awards
Hall of Fame – Bobby Lorton
First place – Investigative reporting (Clifton Adcock, Reese Gorman)
First place – Magazine news writing (Brianna Bailey)
First place – General news (Kayla Branch, Reese Gorman)
First place – Ongoing coverage (Brianna Bailey, Kassie McClung)

Society of Professional Journalists First Amendment Awards

Best website – The Frontier
Best reporter – Clifton Adcock
Best interactive graphic – Clifton Adcock
First place – Online writing (Kayla Branch)
Second place – Online writing (Kayla Branch)

Great Plains Journalism Awards
Newspaper Writer of The Year – Brianna Bailey
First place – Business news (Brianna Bailey)
First place – Specialty Feature (Kassie McClung)
First place – General News continuing coverage (Dylan Goforth)

The Arc of Oklahoma

Media Advocate of the Year – Clifton Adcock

Dan Allen Center for Social Justice
Media award – Bobby Lorton, Dylan Goforth

Society of Professional Journalists Oklahoma Pro Chapter

Online breaking news coverage – First place (Ziva Branstetter, Dylan Goforth)
Spot News, Newspaper A category – First place (Cary Aspinwall, Dylan Goforth)